Approval for this bulletin

Subject to priorities defined by the Technical Council and the Presidium, the results of the *fib*'s work in commissions and task groups are published in a continuously numbered series of technical publications called *bulletins*. The following categories are used:

Category: Technical report State-of-the-art report Manual / Guide to good practice / Recommendation Model code Approval by:

Task group and chairpersons of the commission Commission Technical Council General Assembly

Any publication not having met the above requirements will be clearly identified as a preliminary draft.

fib bulletin 112 was approved as a technical report by the fib Commission 8 in November 2023.

The fib Commission 8 Durability includes the following members:

Chair: Campos e Matos Co-Chair: Santhanam Deputy Co-Chair: Andrade

Members: Angst, Appleton, Bartholomew, Beushausen, Bigaj-van Vliet, Boumaaza, Casas Rius, Curtis, Dehn, Edvardsen, Ferreira, Gardiner, Gehlen, Gong, Green, Helland, Júlio, Kobayashi, Li, Linger, Liu, Mancini, Matthews, Meda. Müller. Pacheco. Paeglitis, Papworth, Pielstick, Rafiq, Rahimi, Randl, Rinaldi, Solgaard, Strauss, Subbarao, Teixeira, Torrent, Torrenti, Toutlemonde, Ueda, van der Horst, Von Greve-Dierfeld, and Walraven.

Cover image: Nouvelle Route du Littoral, La Réunion (France). Photo credit: Photothèque VINCI et filiales.

© Fédération internationale du béton (fib) 2024.

Although the International Federation for Structural Concrete / Fédération internationale du béton (fib) does its best to ensure that all the information presented in this publication is accurate, no liability or responsibility of any kind, including liability for negligence, is accepted in this respect by the organisation, its members, employees or agents.

All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced, modified, translated, stored in a retrieval system or transmitted in any form or by any means – electronically, mechanically, through photocopying, recording or otherwise – without prior written permission from the fib.

ISSN 1562-3610 ISBN 978-2-88394-180-9 https://doi.org/10.35789/*fib*.BULL.0112 Language check: Gordon Clark Layout by Marie Reymond (*fib*). Printed by P+K Solutions GmbH & Co. KG

Acknowledgements

This technical report was drafted by a working group within the *fib* Commission 8 Durability.

Authors:

Lionel Linger (Editor) Vinci Construction Grands Projets, France

Mouna Boumaaza (Editor) Vinci Construction Grands Projets, France

Mark Alexander University of Cape Town, South Africa

> **Alexandra Bertron** INSA Toulouse, France

Tech. Univ. of Catalunva, UPC-BarcelonaTech, Spain Miguel Ferreira VTT Techn. Research Centre of Finland, Finland

> Norwood Harrison Concrete Institute of Australia, Australia

Carmen Andrade

Instituto Eduardo Torroja, Spain

Joan Ramon Casas Rius

Steinar Helland S Helland Konsult, Norway

> **Stefan Jacobsen** NTNU, Norway

David Lange University of Illinois, USA

Qing-Feng Liu Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China

> **Stuart Matthews** Matthews Consulting, UK

Stéphane Multon INSA Toulouse. France

Amir Rahimi Bundesanstalt für Wasserbau, Germany

> **Anders Solgaard** Cowi A/S, Denmark

Michael Thomas University of New Brunswick, Canada

Jean-Michel Torrenti Université Gustave Eiffel. France

Neven Ukrainczyk Technical University of Darmstadt, Germany

Stefanie Von Greve-Dierfield TFB Technology and Research for Concrete Structures, Switzerland

Contact details of Task Group members can be found in the members only section of the *fib* website, www.fib-international.org.

BCR. Australia Manu Santhanam

> Franck Spörel BAW, Germany

Roberto Torrent Consultant, Switzerland

François Toutlemonde Université Gustave Eiffel, France

Michael Vogel KIT Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, Germany

Frank Dehn KIT Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, Germany

Bruno Godart AFGC, France

Marianne Hasholt Technical University of Denmark, Denmark

> **Doug Hooton** University of Toronto, Canada

Siham Kamali-Bernard

Institut National des Sciences Appliquées (INSA-Rennes), France

Kefei Li Tsinghua University China

Federica Lollini Politecnico di Milano Italy

Fabrizio Moro Hagerbach Test Gallery, Switzerland

Frank Papworth

IIT Madras, India